Long Time No Post: My Update


download (1)It feels like its been ages since me and my parents were detouring around the Michigan State campus construction to get to MIPA. With all that’s been going on it feels time has flown and my WordPress blog should have deteriorated into dust by now.

I moved. I used to live in a suburban area about 25 minutes from Detroit, Michigan. Canton was great; clean, low crime rates, friendly neighbors, etc, BUT everything that my family did was IN Detroit. Work, school, family, friends ALL in Detroit.

Our commute became extremely costly and after experiencing this for about 3 years, my parents had enough, we had to move.

Another huge factor to us moving was the fact that I couldn’t really experience a lot of “high school fun” all the way out in Africa. How could my friends come pick me up for a party if it took an hour to get to my house and back to a party in Detroit? Not including they would probably have to take me back home. After a year or two of complaining about my dwindling social life, we finally made the move.

Now there was absolutely no question about living in Detroit. With a crime index of 2 (100 being the safest) compared to Canton’s 55, we were  N-O-T NOT moving to Detroit.

I really wanted to move back to a city called Southfield, an urban area with a commute of only 10-15 minutes, it was perfect. Now I can be closer to my friends and school and my parents could be closer to work and family.

What could be wrong? Let me tell you. We went from a posh 4 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, so much room we don’t know what to do with house in Canton to a 2 bedroom, still 2 1/2 bath, let me put this in your room so we don’t have to pay for storage townhouse in Southfield.

Don’t get me wrong, its a really nice townhouse but the outside reminds me of these apartments me and my mom used to live in in Farmington Hills called Cordoba. They were terrible! The outside was 50 shades of yuck brown, the floors smelled of cigarettes and sorrow and even in the summertime it seemed as if we were stuck endlessly in Fall.

My walls are tan, which isn’t that bad considering my numerous messy hair projects, but I like “blank” canvases to work with.  That’s my only négatif about the place, so lets get into the good stuff.

I have a couch in my room, IN MY ROOM! That’s how huge it is. My closet, HUGE, and oh yeah, I have a bathroom in my room to. I thought that was only possible with master bedrooms!

It’s only my second day here so I couldn’t, even if I was trying to, give a review on the place. Only thing I can say is: So far, so good.

What did you think?